I bet that subject line got your attention, right?  Probably.  We’re a society of voyeurs, aren’t we?  But that doesn’t pertain to this particular post….I guess that could be a good future post.

I am an avid reader.  I have way too many books throughout my house and it’s quite common that I have more than one book going at a time.  It’s how I roll.  I love fiction, biography, human interest, etc.  My all time favorite book is “Jane Eyre”.  Just typing that makes me want to dig through my mountains of books to find it and read it again.  From the classics to contemporary, I just love to read!

So my secret?  My dirty little secret?  I also love the ridiculous, geared-toward-teenagers stuff.  I compare it to how a foodie who loves gourmet fare, might also enjoy a greasy hamburger.  So yes, that means I devoured the Twilight series.  And I do mean devoured.   I borrowed all four books from my friend and read all four in two weeks.  It was sort of embarassing and by the end I felt like I had just binged on four bags of cookies.  Not that I felt sick, just guilty for loving them so much. 

Here’s the thing, though.  I saw Stephenie Meyer interviewed on Oprah.  Okay, now, watching Oprah is not a dirty little secret, because I do NOT watch Oprah.  But I saw that she had Stephenie on and I recorded that show.  Anyway, after seeing her interviewed, I sort of felt better about loving her series so much.  She was a stay-at-home mom with three young boys, right in the thick of things, when the idea for “Twilight” came to her.  She had never written professionally before.  Nothing published.  Ever.  And she had a dream.  Quite literally.  She dreamt one night about the scene where Edward shows Bella how he’s all sparkly in the sun.  So she wrote that chapter first, and filled in the time before and the time afterward from there. 

I have to respect that.  I have always loved writing too, but have never had anything published.  But her story makes me think that it’s possible.  Even at my advanced age.  HA! 

So yes, while I have succumbed to the craze that is “Twilight”, I’m not a complete fluff reader.  Let’s not forget my love for Miss Eyre.

And in case you’re curious…….Team Jacob.  All the way.

