Last night, Spain claimed the title of World Cup champions.  The game was definitely a nail-biter, both teams refusing to allow goals until overtime.  That’s when Spain was finally able to take advantage of a slightly off-center Netherlands goalie and smash it past his outstretched hand for a goal.  Wow, that sounded strangely like I know what I’m talking about in terms of futbol.  Weird. 

Spain, you not only have amazing food, an exciting culture, and people who just ooze sexiness [seriously, I think the Spanish can make words like “sinus infection” sound sexy], and now you also have a World Cup title to your name!  Excellent.  But take heart, Netherlands!  You still have speedskating, windmills, tulips, wooden shoes, and…frugality!   You fought the good fight, Dutchies, but Spain triumphed.  I think we can all agree though, South Africa put on one amazing World Cup.

********

My husband and I were driving home from Michigan yesterday and saw more than a few thought-provoking  and amusing billboards:

“Mercy Hospital.  Now offering 3D and 4D ultrasounds”:  My hubs read it and said, “What in the world is a 4D ultrasound?  What makes up that fourth dimension?  Terrifying”.  We came up with a a possible scenario.  As you watch your 3D ultrasound, a nurse squirts you with amniotic fluid and strokes your face with a slimy doll arm.  Voila!  Fourth dimension.

“Club 30.  All of the Liquor.  None of the clothes”:  Who wants to go to a club to drink while naked?

“Le Valley Honda Dealership”:  Le Valley.  It’s French.  For The Valley.

******

What’s the deal with people who use their bluetooths inside stores?  I was in a grocery store the other day and this woman came around the corner all quiet and not talking, and she was pushing her little cart, and since we were the only ones around, I assumed it would be a quiet meeting.  All of a sudden, she started yelling.  I about wet myself with fright until I realized that she had a bluetooth in her ear and was arguing with whoever was on the other end of the call.  Well, lovely.  If she had been using her phone like a normal person, I would have known she was mid-conversation.  Instead, I had the begeezus scared out of me.  Let’s summarize.  Bluetooth in car:  Good.  Bluetooth in stores: Terrifying (and no, you don’t look cool with that thing in your ear)

******

Today, the hubs and I went to Best Buy, and because the older two are currently in Michigan with my parents for a week, we only had our baby boy with us.  In case you haven’t heard, he’s the cutest little brown baby ever.  Our Chocolate Love Truffle.  Anywhoo….I digress.  So there we were, walking into Best Buy with our deliciously gorgeous baby and walking out of Best Buy was a tall black man.  He looked at us and said, “Hey!  Will you guys adopt me too?  Please?”.  Hubs and I laughed nervously wondering where he might be going with this.  In my mind, he could be commenting good-naturedly, or it could all go horribly horribly wrong. 

He went on, “Come one, guys, I don’t eat much, man”.  Hubs said, “Yeah, well, wish we could!  We don’t have any more room!  heh heh!”. 

Meanwhile, I’m still praying for a good outcome – this was a totally new reaction to our mixed family.  Then the guy said, “Aw, I’m just kidding, man.  God bless you, I think it’s wonderful”.  Phew!  Relief!  Honestly, I’ve never heard this scenario in all of the stories shared amongst adoptive families so it seemed normal to be a tad nervous.  I’m so glad it didn’t all go horribly wrong.  That really would have ruined the day for me.

