The end of summer is looming.  I’m not too happy about it.  This summer has actually been quite wonderful.  I have fallen in love with my kids all over again.  We’ve enjoyed lazy mornings.  We’ve relished making plans for fun day trips.  We’ve played at the pool.  I love my kids. 

Now let’s be real here.  There are days when I have not been so overjoyed with their behavior….uhhhh, see previous post.  But for the most part, they’ve been a lot of fun to be with, and totally entertaining. 

And so now we prepare for the beginning of a new school year.   And I have a kindergartener.  Has it come to this?  I can’t believe I have a kindergartener.  My oldest is going to kindergarten.  I don’t consider myself a “weepy” mom who fights back tears at ever major new life stage, but for some reason, I’ve been having trouble with this one.    Every time I think about sending him off, I get a bit teary-eyed.  Thankfully, I don’t have to send him off on a bus, and I know a few friends who do.  Oy, that would be way too emotional for me.  No, we shall walk down the block, around the corner, and send him off in style.  And then we shall turn around, walk back home, and I shall weep the entire way.

I know all will be well, but that first day is gonna be difficult. So to all my mommy friends who have first-time kindergarteners, I stand with you in solidarity and sobs.

