Last week was the beginning of a new school year, and my first-born went off to his first day of kindergarten.  The entire experience was so wonderful for him, and a bit emotional for me.  Thankfully, I had worked out all the tears prior to the kid parade on the first day.  The night before his first day, I cried myself to sleep as the slow-motion montage of his life played in my mind.  When I awoke the next day, I found him curled up on the dog bed at the foot of our bed, totally asleep.  I took a quick shower, got dressed, and lay down next to him and watched him sleep…and cried some more.  Not tears of sadness, but tears of happiness and an overwhelming sense of pride that my sweet baby boy is now a big kid. 

The Big Kid Kindergartener!

His first day was fantastic, he loved his teacher, his classroom, his classmates, everything!

Oh my sweet, Mommy loves you!!

Of course, later, we celebrated with ice cream.  Blue ice cream.

Why do kids love the blue ice cream??

