Everyone talks about their New Year’s resolutions, most of which seem to center around eating healthy and exercising.  I’m guessing this phenomena occurs because we have just finished the holiday season, where from Halloween to New Year’s we indulge in many naughty chocolate confections and/or cookies, and deliciously rich meals soaked in gravy and cheese.  Blech.  That actually makes me nauseous.  

I don’t really make resolutions, but I have a lot of confidence in myself this year to CONTINUE pursuing a healthy lifestyle.  I am now 25 lbs lighter than I was at this time last year, and I have dramatically improved my portion sizes and choices in terms of what I’m eating.  I’m also much better at drinking water.  I’m going to be honest.  I hate water.  I’m really horrible at remembering to drink anything at all, and when I do, I would find myself tired so I’d want a Coke.  mmmm…Coke.  I still love it (Coke, that is), but I don’t drink anywhere near as much as I used to.  I’ve discovered that in order to keep myself drinking water, I must be sure the water is ice cold and consumed through a straw.  So I got myself a delightful water bottle to accomodate my H2O requirements.

The secret to my hydration success

I highly recommend Camelbak for those who might have similar quirks about hydration. I also highly recommend increasing your daily fiber intake. I personally enjoy Kellogg’s Fiber Plus Yorgurt Berry Crunch. It is muy muy delish. I usually ad 1/3 of a cup of Bran Buds to my bowl and Wowza! Fiber-packed breakfast.  Lots ‘o fiber is a fabulous “secret” to trimming down.  It really uhhh… “gets things moving” if ya know what I mean.

Now in terms of exercise, I cannot say enough about the benefits of running.  A good, solid cardiovascular workout is not only good for losing weight and getting fit, but it’s so fantastic for improving one’s mood and self-confidence.  Particularly if one is convinced that she is most definitely NOT a runner and would fail miserably if she ever tried.  Oh hey, that’s me!  So if you’re reading this and you’d like to get back on the fitness train or perhaps board it for the very first time, take heart!  I had convinced myself that I could never run.  Only when chased.  And then I made the attempt with the encouragement of a friend.  It was slow-going at first.  Very slow.  And let’s not kid ourselves.  I’m no champion right now, even after a year of working at it.  This should serve as an encouragement for you who may be counting yourselves as failures before you even start.  I still have to walk at times when I run.  Maybe one day I’ll get to the point where I can run without walking for a long period of time, but even at this point, who cares?  I’m still getting a great workout, the endorphins are still pumping through my veins!

Oh Jillian, how I love to hate you.

I’ve also added Jillian Michael’s 30-Day Shred to my workout routine and she has been thoroughly kicking my tush.  Shredding is another reccomendation of mine as it’s a more well-rounded workout.  The DVD is only about $9, and you only need light handweights.  Bonus for hard-working moms:  it only takes 20 minutes.  20 minutes and you’ll be crying for mercy, but it’s a fantastic workout.  Another great feature is that there are three levels, so as soon as you can get through a workout without praying for the sweet release of death, you can move up to the next level.  Now, listen to me, I’m not doing too well with encouraging any of you to join up on pursuing a healthy lifestyle.  I promise, The Shred will challenge you, but when you finish those 20 minutes, you will feel so very good.

So don’t make a resolution.  Think about what you want for you.  And if you aren’t willing to do the consistent, day after day work, then you really don’t want it.  Because you can know what you want to do, but if you don’t make that knowledge settle itself in your heart, you won’t do the work.  No one else can motivate you, no one else can do it for you.  You must make up your mind to do it.  You must resolve to do it.  Which I guess would mean that you would come to a resolution to change.  But don’t think of it as a New Year’s resolution, or you will surely fail.  At least that what’s statistics say.  But your health shouldn’t be an item on a list.
So join me in pursuing good health!  May 2011 bring new confidence and new growth for you and may you inspire others along the way!  Cheers, friends!
