I know that the world doesn’t necessarily share my worldview, or agree with my sense of morality, or share my faith.  Therefore I do not expect others to behave according to my beliefs.  But I think that I can expect a level of common decency and some sense of right and wrong from the public.

I took my daughter and youngest son out for a ‘treat” at my daughter’s most favorite place (which I have been promising to do since about September).  As we enjoyed each other’s company and shared a cup of fruit and bagels, I couldn’t help but overhear a group of 3 “businessmen” at a table nearby. I assume they were businessmen.  They were dressed in logo-embroidered shirts and dress pants, and were discussing “this quarter’s projections” over their laptops.  I don’t know what exactly they did, but one of the men had a sticker on his laptop that exclaimed, “Ask me about Fresh Seafood!”.  I was tempted to do so, but was afraid of what the answer might be.

Anyway, as they discussed business, I cringed at their language.  One of the dudes was dropping the f-bomb far too many times for a professional conversation (the limit of which, in case you were wondering, is ZERO, amongst colleagues – at least in my opinion).  There were some other colorful words thrown in as well, which was great .  Now, again, I don’t expect people to dislike swearing as much as I do.  Not that I’m entirely guilt-free in this area, but I make an effort to keep it clean.  I know other people do it a lot, but can we agree that doing it loudly, in a public place where frequenters of the establishment where you are currently, have CHILDREN with them?  Thank you, but I don’t want my kids listening to your foul mouth.    We’re talking about Barbie and My Little Pony over here and I don’t need to hear “f this” and “those f-ing guys” and “just get the f-ing order in”, thankyouverymuch.  And as a business professional, why do you assume that every other business professional speaks the same way and wants to hear you speak that way?  And while we’re at it, can we also keep the foul language under control just when meeting new people in general?  Holy smokes, I had someone I had just met string so many swear words together in just a few sentences that I couldn’t help but wonder if she knew English, or just Cuss.

So hear me out professional business people of the world:  If you’re out to breakfast or lunch with colleagues discussing your business and you happen to be somewhere that caters to adults AND children alike, please keep the swearing to nil.   Thanks ever so much.

*************************

UPDATE

I’m getting a lot of “Did you say something to them?” and “Why didn’t you say something?”.  I forgot to add in the original post that I didn’t say anything, but I did pointedly turn around in my chair, look at them, eyebrows raised, etc – you know…. The Look.  They quieted down and managed to control themselves, but the one who appeared to be the leader started up again. Thankfully, at that time, we were leaving.  As we walked out, I looked at them again and shook my head.  I know, it’s not as in-your-face as I would have liked, but I wasn’t really in the mood.

