Well, a getaway of sorts.  It’s not exactly a “pleasure trip”, but I’m sure it’s going to be a lot of  fun!  On Thursday of this week, my husband and I will be leaving in the wee hours of the morning for a trip to Managua, Nicaragua.  We wanted to re-create this season’s episodes of ‘Survivor’. 

Okay, so not really.  We will be going with a  group from our church to visit two orphanages that we (the church) want to sponsor through a fantastic group called ORPHANetwork.  This is an American group that works directly with orphanges in Nicaragua and connects them with churches to sponsor them.  Each orphanage is sponsored by 4-5 churches.  The goal is to develop relationships with the orphanages, the churches, and all of the individuals involved in each.  ORPHANetwork wants the churches to visit regularly, to come alongside these kids and pour love into them, showing them their self-worth and how much they are loved by God and the people surrounding them by getting to know them as individuals and assisting the staff to teach them life skills. 

While we’re in Nicaragua, we will get to visit these orphanges and spend time with the kids, playing, talking, and getting to know them.  One of the days, we even get to bring the older kids on a “field trip” to a water park.  This excursion was a last minute addition and although I know it will be fun, I was not prepared to don a bathing suit while there.  Oh well.  I will roll with it.  They don’t care how fit or unfit I am, right?  RIGHT?!?!?  *sigh* So a last minute waxing appointment was made, and I’ll be ready to go come Thursday.

So from Thursday to Monday, we will be escaping this frigid Chicago winter weather and enjoy some tropical temperatures!  We have been checking the weather and the high temp for every day is 89 degrees.  I think it will be quite a shock to my system.  But worse, oh so much worse, coming back home.  I will enjoy it while it lasts.

Our kids will be enjoying being spoiled by their grandparents while we’re down south.  I have been furiously writing up schedules and instructions, most of which I’m sure will go unheeded.  And that’s okay.  As long as they get to school and any other activities that we paid good money for, it’ll be fine.

I am looking forward to everything I will see and learn this weekend, and telling you all about it!  And I will do my best to not sneak one of those adorable kids into my luggage to take home with us. 

Cheers!

